No MCM for me!


The final decision…..no Marine Corps Marathon for me this year. I have gone through the different stages…denial…anger…sadness…acceptance. 

Denial….this can’t be happening, we had plans and the hotel was reserved. Post marathon massage was already scheduled with my favorite masseuse. 

Anger….I know my training partner didn’t intend to get hurt….but what about me !!! I have never not finished a training plan. I’m not a quitter!!! What about me!!! I have wasted 10 weeks training for MCM. 

Sadness….my friend is hurt and all I can think about is me. She is probably just as torn up as I am. How selfish of me….what kind of friend am I??

Acceptance….despite my best laid plans I will not be running the Marine Corps Marathon this year. I will try to transfer my bib through the legal channels….if no one wants it I will defer for next year. 

So I won the book pictured above from Kookyrunner. It arrived right on time..as I was on train about to wreck. I hadn’t ran in four days….so unlike me. I was cranky and miserable. Today I ran and it felt great!! Sometimes things happen out of our control. It’s ok to go through a grief process….just don’t get stuck there!!! Here’s to moving forward and Think Happy. 

Ps check out a great blog about running and fitness with great giveaways. http://kookyrunner.com/musicmonday-bad-boy-artists-edition/

2 thoughts on “No MCM for me!

  1. I’m so sorry 😦 I know how much planning and thought goes into training for a marathon. I’m sure that you will be able to transfer your bib as its such a popular race! Is there another race, maybe a half marathon, that you can do instead? That way you can still use your 10 weeks of training toward a race.

    Like

Leave a comment